Colorado Warmachine
rumble.jpg

Warmachine Blog: Mile High Delusions

A blog about Warmachine and Hordes, from the Mile High Meta

Warmachine Hordes Grymkin: Random Rules part Duex

A young man knows the rules, an old man knows the exceptions.

I got a lot of follow up questions and general love after I published Grymkin Random Rules Post. So here's part two, rules about Grymkin you should know!

To Ambush or not to Ambush

In Bump in the Night our Murder Crows gain "ambush". So when in a game do I have to decide whether they are going to use Ambush or just Advance Deploy like normal?

There was a lot of confusion about this, luckily Bulldog ruled on it on the Forums.
Forums Ruling

So we have to decide before deployment whether we're going Ambush, or Advanced Deploy the Murder Crows. In the case of each player having this option the player who's going first decides first. It's also worth noting that ALL our Murder Crows can gain Ambush, not just one unit!

Eyeless Sight, Clouds, Arc Nodes, Stealth, oh my

With the Frightmares animus I've heard it come up more than once around the local gaming table, and this is something I had to verify hadn't changed in the edition switch. To distill it down to it's basics when channeling a spell;

  • anything Line of Sight modifying needs to be on the Arcnode/Channeler to have any effect
    • So to ignore LOS blocking clouds the Arcnode/Channeler would need eyeless sight.
  • anything modifying the attack needs to be done on on the caster to have any effect.
    • So to ignore the automiss from Stealth the Caster would need eyeless sight. 

This is the best reference, but it's from mkii;
Forums Ruling

Here is are some mkiii references verifying it didn't change;
Forums Ruling

So unfortunately we can't ignore clouds for LOS when channelling spells, however we can ignore stealth while doing so!

Charge attack redirection, Lance rule

Neighslayers are my favorite Grymkin unit, however they come with the dreaded "lance rule". So what is the lance rule and how does it work? 

Lance: This weapon can only be used to make charge attacks. This weapon's RNG is 0 unless this model charges. When this model charges, this weapon's RNG is 2 until the charge attack is resolved.

So the questions I hear the most are? Can I redirect my successful charge attack with my lance? The answer is no, unfortunately a charge attack is the attack on the model you charged. 
Forums Ruling

I also hear a lot of more basic charge questions. I gave them the charge order can't they use the lance? No a charge attack is only given if a model moves at least 3 inches.
Page 45 Prime

Lastly, If I made a successful charge, but never made the charge attack do I keep the RNG2 lance. While I see why people may think or ask that, the answer is no.
Forums Ruling

So while the Lance rule isn't my favorite, Neighslayers still are. Be sure to keep your models positioned properly so they all have room to make charges. And don't forget the little fellows can make impact attacks!

RFP, Souls, and Corpses

This is easier than you think, but comes up a TON. In magic there was an acronym I loved when I judged, RTFR. But then again if you did that you wouldn't be on my blog. I'll try to make this as simple as possible. Warmachine follows an Attack Sequence, you can find it on page 369 of Prime;

Damage Roll

  • a. Resolve effects that change the number of dice rolled, such as boosting the roll.
  • b. Roll the dice.
  • c. Resolve effects that remove dice from the roll.
  • d. Determine if the roll would damage the model.
  • e. Resolve effects that cause the damage roll to be rerolled. Return to step b if needed. When returning to step b, add all dice removed in step c back to the roll.
  • f. Resolve effects triggered by a damage roll that fails to exceed the ARM of a model hit.
  • g. Resolve effects that trigger when a model “would suffer damage” such as damage transference.

10. Apply all damage.

Damage Application
If an attack damaged more than one model, choose one model, follow the damage application sequence below, then repeat for each other damaged model.

  • a. Resolve effects triggered by a model suffering damage.
  • b. If all of a model’s damage boxes are marked, the model is disabled. Resolve effects triggered by the model becoming disabled.
  • c. If the model is still disabled, it becomes boxed. Resolve effects triggered by the model becoming boxed.
  • d. If the model is still boxed, it is destroyed. Resolved effects triggered by a model being destroyed.
  • e. Remove the destroyed model from the table, then return to the main sequence.

11. The attack is now resolved.
12. Resolve active player effects that trigger “after the
attack is resolved” that do not involve making another
attack.
13. Resolve all inactive player effects that trigger “after
the attack is resolved.”
14. Resolve active player effects that trigger “after the
attack is resolved” that involve making an attack.

Attack Sequence

1. Declare the attack and its target.
2. Resolve effects that occur when a model is targeted by
an attack.
3. Check the range to the target. If the target is out of
range, the attack automatically misses; do not make
any attack rolls, and go to step 6.
4. Resolve effects that cause an attack to hit or miss
automatically.
5. Make all attack rolls as dictated by the type of attack
and its special rules. For example, a spray attack or
Thresher special attack must go through the attack
roll sequence for each model potentially hit before
proceeding to step 6.

Attack Roll

  • a. Resolve effects that change the number of
  • dice rolled, such as boosting the roll.
  • b. Roll the dice.
  • c. Resolve effects that remove dice from the roll.
  • d. Determine if the model would be hit or missed by the attack roll against it.
  • e. Resolve effects that cause the attack roll to be rerolled. Return to step b if needed. When returning to step b, add all dice removed in step c back to the roll.

6. Resolve effects that cause the attack to automatically
hit a model other than the target.
7. Resolve the AOE hit or deviation. All models within
the AOE at its final position are now hit by it.
8. Resolve all other effects triggered by hitting or
missing.
9. Make all damage rolls resulting from the attack.

 


 

Okay on first glance thats a lot to remember, but is it? When people ask does RFP (removed from play) stop Soul/Corpse collection I always ask what does the card say. There are several steps at which the RFP can occur, and once a model is RFP'd it never hits the later steps. There are also several steps where Soul/Corpse collection can occur. So basically we're asking does the RFP happen before, after, or at the same time as the Soul/Corpse collection does? Let's look at a few Grymkin examples;

Cage Rager vs Living Enemy Model in range of a Sacral Vault

  • A Cage Rager kills a living enemy model in range of a Sacral Vault.
    • The Cage Rage has Bone Picker. This RFP's when the Cage Rager DESTROYS a living or undead enemy model with a melee attack. This model gains the destroyed model's corpse token and the destroyed model is removed from play.
      • The living enemy model is both RFP'd and her corpse is given to the Cage Rager. This happens at the destroyed step.
  • Sacral Vault has Soul Taker: Crypt of Souls. This model can gain soul tokens. When a living model is destroyed within this model's command range, this model gains the destroyed model's soul token. 
    • The soul is collected at the destroyed step, so the Sacral Vault in this example also gets a soul.

Okay same example as above but let's use the Dread Rot instead of a Cage Rager

  • A Dread Rot kills a living enemy model in range of a Sacral Vault.
    • The Dread Rot has Bag Man: When this model boxes a living or undead enemy model with a melee attack, this model gains the boxed model's corpse token and the boxed model is removed from play.
      • The living enemy model is both RFP'd and it's corpse is given to the Dread Rot. This happens at the BOXED step.
  • Sacral Vault has Soul Taker: Crypt of Souls. This model can gain soul tokens. When a living model is destroyed within this model's command range, this model gains the destroyed model's soul token.
    • We can easily see on the Damage Application table that Boxed is before Destroyed. The RFP of the Dread Rot disrupts the normal flow and because of this the model never makes it to destroyed, and hence the soul is never gathered. 

That's just two possible examples. Grymkin have RFP on boxed and on destroyed. However other factions have it on disabled, and even on hit. Some just straight RFP and aren't even associated with the Attack Sequence Chart. So when in doubt just reread each rule, figure out when each trigger happens and map it out. I do try to know exactly when my stuff RFP's and when my stuff collects. I feel this only makes the game go faster!

Bone Picker, and the Deathknell

The last thing about corpses I want to cover is the interaction between the Heavy Warbeasts with Bone Picker and the Death Knell. 

  • Bone Picker states: When this model destroys a living or undead enemy model with a melee attack, this model gains the destroyed model's corpse token...This model can have up to three corpse tokens at any time.
  • The Death Knell BRING OUT YOUR DEAD! states: When an enemy living or undead model is destroyed while in the mode's command range, this model gains the destroyed models's corpse token. 

So when a Grymkin warbeast with Bone Picker kills an enemy living or undead model he has to get the corpse. However, if it is full on corpses when it kills a enemy living or undead model he's ineligible to take the corpse. This means normal token allocation applies, aka closest available model.
Forums Ruling

In addition that ruling clearly states that for Bone Picker the RFP and the Corpse Collection are not linked. A model is RFP'd whether or not it's Corpse can be collected. 

Upcoming Articles

So hopefully this helps clear up some confusion! What rules issues with Grymkin are you seeing in your local Meta? I've been continuing on my quest for a Ghost Fleet answer. You can read about that over at the Discount Games INC Blog. I'm also still working on finishing my Arcana Review articles. In addition I have quite a few battle reports I've wrapping up, and I'm super excited to start playing the DREAMER! So as always let me know what you guys think. If you're ever in the Mile High Meta I'd love to get a game!

Cheers,
TT